Aigues-Mortes

We left Marseillen Plage and headed for Aigues-Mortes, a splendid walled town founded in 1240 by Louis IX. We walked the ramparts and took in the views of the surrounding area and the Canal du Rhone before continuing through the cobbled streets lined with restaurants and shops, where I purchased some riz rouge de Camargue. I had seen Mary Berry use it in a recipe and could not find red rice at home and she mentioned that it came from the Camargue. The very friendly shop keeper proceeded to tell me in French how to cook it (I think he said it needed to boil for 30-40 minutes). I explained I was English but I had a French friend (Liz that’s you) and he pointed to Tony who was waiting outside the shop as if he was my French friend but I was able to tell him he was my husband. This exchange of words all took place in French no less!

We had initially intended to stay the night at the Aire in Aigues-Mortes but decided to continue moving east and we are now on an Aire overlooking the beach at Stes Maries de la Mer, the furthest westerly seaward point on the Camargue.

I have been in the dog house the past couple of days because we were unable to get access to the Internet through our secure wifi gadget. It turns out it is because we had run out of credit and of course it is my responsibility to ensure that we have enough credit before we leave the UK. I was able to top it up today so now Tony is happy again as he can now access his favourite radio station, LBC.   The weather has also improved, the wind has dropped and plenty of sunshine so whilst I cooked dinner, Tony went for a swim in the sea. Now he is happy twice over!

We have been informed that some of you may have received dodgy emails from my email address in the past few days. This is probably due to me having to use a campsite hotspot to upload my blog. Sorry for this, please delete them as I have not sent anyone any emails.

11 thoughts on “Aigues-Mortes

  1. pennyreynolds48 September 18, 2015 / 8:10 am

    watch out for the mosquitoes down there – had a severe reaction to one and my foot swelled so much I couldn’t get any shoes on. Have a fantastic time and I know what it is like to be in the ‘dog house’ I spend a lot of time there!

    Like

  2. John and carol September 18, 2015 / 4:35 pm

    Oh no.Are you saying the e mail l received from you yesterday saying you were going to give me £500 is dodgy. John and carol

    Like

  3. penny lambourne September 18, 2015 / 9:07 pm

    Well done with the french conversation I cant understand cooking instructions in English let alone a foreign language Hope Tony didnt go skinny dipping and scare the natives Hugs Pennyx

    Like

  4. liz September 18, 2015 / 9:48 pm

    you got it right, that rice takes for ever to cook!! well done for the french talk, bisous to you and your (French) husband !!

    Like

  5. Kate & Ja September 18, 2015 / 10:35 pm

    Hey Mum & Dad, great to read your update and lovely to see your pics. Dad, French….I take it they didn’t hear him talk! Ha ha….sending you lots of love Xxx

    Like

    • Rosie Pike September 21, 2015 / 6:02 am

      Yeah and he doesn’t look French either!

      Like

  6. Alan and Gloria September 19, 2015 / 6:58 am

    Bloody hell your van has a dog house too, they fit so much in there don’t they.
    I bet Tony is missing the Internet, for obvious reasons, rugby World Cup news.
    Tony French eh? Plume de ma tante. J’ack de lore. X

    Like

  7. Rosie Pike September 20, 2015 / 5:49 am

    So glad to see that you are reading the blog. Your comments made us laugh!

    Like

  8. ourtravelsaroundeurope September 21, 2015 / 12:28 pm

    Hi Rosie, What system and more importantly what data sim card do you use for your internet access.
    Many thanksTracey

    Like

    • Rosie Pike September 21, 2015 / 7:20 pm

      Hi Tracey, I use the Huawei Mobile Wifi device with a Europasim card. It costs €3 per day for 500MB data. Hope that helps.

      Like

Leave a Reply

