Armação de Pera

We took the N125 out of Olhão passing the outskirts of Faro and Vilamoura then took the 526 to Albufeira and stopped at Praia de Galé, west of Alburfeira. We managed to get parked up despite being the only motorhome in the vicinity but hadn’t noticed any no motorhome parking signs to took the risk. We spent the afternoon on the beach at the most easterly end, soaking up the sun and swimming in the sea.

We continued along the 526 to Armação de Pera, our destination for the following two nights and booked into Camping Armação de Pera. The campsite wasn’t busy and with all facilities required plus the luxury of a swimming pool and being only 500m from the beach was perfect.

Camping Armação de Pera

The following morning, we walked to Praia Dos Pescardores, (Fisherman’s Beach) aptly named as this is where the fishermen keep their boats and launch them from the beach straight into the sea.

We spent another glorious day reading, sunbathing and dipping into the sea to cool off. Getting into the sea is quite an endeavour as the waves tumbling onto the beach are quite powerful, as I found out. You really need to stand on the shore, watch what the waves are doing, then time it just right to enter the sea in a bit of a lull. I failed to do this and was bashed back to the beach several times, having to pull up my costume before I stood up again only to get bashed back again to the shore with grazed knees and having gulped a load of salty water. I managed to crawl back to the shore and stand up, only to find that as I did this, my costume had sagged quite significantly at the bum looking as though I had pooped myself when in fact I seemed to have picked up a bundle of sand, which I duly deposited back on the beach. Feeling extremely embarrassed at my situation and hoping nobody had actually been recording my experience, I nonchalantly walked back to my chair as if nothing untoward had happened and pleased to see that Tony hadn’t taken a photo to put on Facebook! Gallantly, Tony offered to come back with me into the sea and not one to be defeated, accepted his offer and made a successful second attempt!

The weather has been absolutely wonderful, I just wish the sea would calm down a bit!
After having had enough sun and drama for one day, together with watching the tractor launch and retrieve the boats, we left the beach and walked along the beach side, finding more beaches and through the town of Armação de Pera, stopping for a beer and purchasing some after sun cream. I really should have bought a new swimming costume too!

7 thoughts on “Armação de Pera

  1. diddyjan October 6, 2017 / 7:40 am

    You really made me laugh but I think you were awfully brave to enter the waves as you did. It pretty pretty much has to be flat sea for me to get in. Well done for doing the second attempt. X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rosie Pike October 6, 2017 / 9:10 pm

      Thanks Jan I tried to make it humorous despite my embarrassment! Had a much better day today getting in the water. X

      Like

  2. John and carol October 6, 2017 / 4:13 pm

    Yes portugal does often have good weather at this time of year as we found out a year ago in villamoura. Big waves can often have an adverse effect on ones dignity as you seem to have found out the hard way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rosie Pike October 6, 2017 / 4:44 pm

      Timed it just right today and my dignity is intact!

      Like

  3. pennylambourne October 6, 2017 / 7:44 pm

    Glad your dignity intact on 2nd attempt. Tony, like the lime green shorts‼ xx

    Like

  4. gloria keyte October 6, 2017 / 7:57 pm

    Fab pictures as usual. Tell Tony to stop looking so tanned. Xx

    Like

  5. Elisabeth LE GALL October 9, 2017 / 9:30 am

    sorry, had a good laugh reading your bathing adventure!! 🙂 but glad your dignity is intact !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

